Do You Admire Your Boss?

cropped-575226_375018822555648_492656675_n.jpg

This post is spurred by another blog that I read yesterday by Scott Dinsmore at Live Your Legend

Live your legend is all about finding what you love to do and figuring out a way to make money at it so that you can be happy at your “J-O-B”.  Actually, most people, over 80% of the population to be exact, hate their job and the career that they chose to follow.  People have this lie planted in their head that a “JOB” is Not suppose to be fun or that your Not suppose to enjoy the work that you do!  So they put their head down and they Grind it out, Day after Day after Day, Year after Year after Year.  Becoming a workaholic in most cases.  All to become what the “World” says is the definition of “Success“.

You think that if you work your Boo-Tay off to make all the money you can and buy the nice house, the car, have the wife (husband) and kids (that you never get to see, by the way, because your working 100+hrs a week to maintain that so-called  “World Success”) and keep telling yourself, “When I retire, I will take time to be happy then and enjoy life“.  Which brings me back to the Live your Legend blog post, which was appropriately titled, “Do You Want to Be Your Boss?“. (Which is obviously where my title came from, Thanks Scott! lol)

There was something that he said in there that Really just smacked me in the head and I have been thinking about it on and off all day.  “Happiness not spent today, does not equal more Happiness Tomorrow.  If you think that you will be less stressed, less conflicted and less disenchanted at a higher level, you’re in for a Nasty surprise”.

Now, let’s think about that for a minute. I mean really think about it.  Think about your boss.  Do you like them? Do you Admire them? Do they inspire you to be better? Do they motivate you to want to do the best job you can so that you can better yourself in the company or are they micromanaging you trying to keep you where you are because they Hate their job to? (and we all know misery loves company) Here is the big question…. Do you Really Want to Be Your Boss?  If you were offered his/her job tomorrow, would you take it?  That means, ALL the headaches, stresses, hours, time away from home and family that comes along with the pay check he/she is getting.  Now, be honest with yourself, because you have to live with your answer and so does your family not me, Do You Want to Be Your Boss? Do you Really want that promotion? Do you even Like what it is that you do?

Lets get a little deeper since I am Obviously trying to make you think on a Sunday evening lol, If money were no object and you could do ANYTHING in the world you wanted to do…. Starting Tomorrow…. what would it be?  Would you go into work tomorrow and be happy about it.  Doing the best job that you could do and go as far as you could go in that company?  Or would you say, “Take this Job & Shove It!

If you Love what you do for a living, Hey, by all means Keep Doing it!  If you are excited to go to work and are Happy every morning when that alarm goes off because you get to do what you love to do everyday and get paid for it, then this blog post is NOT for you! Congrats on being 1 of the 20% or less.  But, if you are 1 of the 80%+ that Hate what they do…. then maybe, just maybe, now is the time for you to figure out an EXIT plan for your current situation. (And I don’t mean out of the 3rd floor window either lol)

Take a few minutes and really think about what it is that you would love to do that would make you happy.  Then write it down.  The next thing you do is put a pen to paper and figure out what it would take to make that become a reality.  Google it, do your research, find a way to make it happen.  Do Not Let Fear Grip You and keep you from your dreams.  Like I said in my previous blog “Forget About How..Just Do It“, your Dream is on the other side of the fog, you only have to go 3 feet at a time, but you Have To Do It! Fear Only Gets Loud when You’re Doing Something That Matters!

I have no idea where you are in life, I don’t even know you, but I do know how I felt when I was doing a Job that I hated! (that is another story for another blog lol) I knew that I had to find a way out or it would kill me if I stayed.  Now that may be a little overly dramatic for you, but that is how I felt in that job.  I quit, busted my ass studying and in less than 3 months passed my personal trainer certification exam at the age of 44, a Life Long Dream.  When I got my score, I asked the girl 3 times if I had passed because I Never thought I could do it.  When I got back out to my car, I burst into tears.  Big sobbing tears of joy flowing so hard that I almost could not breathe.  I think I cried for what seemed like an eternity at the time, but was probably a good 5-10 minutes of reality.  I Did It! I Passed My Test! Not only did I pass, but I Passed with a score of 90!!! I have been training for 2 years now & I absolutely LOVE what I do!

I said ALL of that to say this to you, If I, a 44 yr old Mother of 2 and GG of 3, can make her Dream Job a Reality….then You Can Too! Believe in yourself and Never let anyone tell you that you “Can’t” or that your crazy or not good enough.  When other people start telling you that your crazy, trust me, that means you are on the right path!  Walk, Jog, Run, whatever you have to do!  Go around them, over them, under them or thru them, but Never Quit!  You are in control of your Destiny!

I would love to hear if you love your job and/or your boss? Or even better, Answer the question, “If money were no object and you could start your dream job tomorrow, what would it be?  Leave it in the comments below and lets chat for a moment!

I hope I have at least inspired you to be more on this Marvelous Sunday! Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to hear my heart!  Be Blessed!  Tammy

Leave a Reply

